Super Bowl 51: A History of Home Teams Winning Finals

Introduction: Who is the Home Team in Super Bowl 51?

The home team in the Super Bowl is the team that is playing at its home stadium. In Super Bowl 51, that team is the Atlanta Falcons.

The Falcons are hosting the New England Patriots in this year’s Super Bowl. The Patriots are the away team, and will be playing at the Georgia Dome in Atlanta. The last time a Super Bowl was hosted by an NFC team’s home stadium, the game was called Super Bowl XXXIX, played in 2005. The New England Patriots defeated the Philadelphia Eagles 24-21 at Alltel Stadium in Jacksonville, Florida. This year marks the third time a Super Bowl will be held at Atlanta’s Georgia Dome . In 1994 and 2000, it was the away team’s home stadium, and the visiting teams were victorious. The San Francisco 49ers won Super Bowl XXIX in 1994. And the Baltimore Ravens bested the New York Giants in Super Bowl XXXV .

Super Bowl history was made during Super Bowl LI (51) when it became the first championship to ever go into overtime. Since the NFL changed the overtime rules in 2012, this is only the second time that an overtime game has decided the Super Bowl champion. The first was Super Bowl XLVII (47), which saw the Baltimore Ravens defeating the San Francisco 49ers 34-31.

So far in Super Bowl history, the home team has a record of 8-5. In the 51 editions of the Super Bowl, no home team has ever been shutout. In 2006, when the Pittsburgh Steelers defeated the Seattle Seahawks 21-10 in Super Bowl XL (40), it was held at Ford Field in Detroit. There were only 7 games played at neutral locations until Super Bowl XXVIII (28) in 1994, which was the first Super Bowl to be played in a different state than its host (Arizona).

The Favorites for Super Bowl 51

New England Patriots

The New England Patriots are the favorite to win by many sports books and betting odds. They come into this game with an impressive 18-3 record during the 2016 regular season and playoffs. They finished first in the AFC East Division, helped by Tom Brady’s 4 games suspension for his alleged involvement in Deflategate. Tom Brady is a sure bet to be named the MVP of Super Bowl 51. The last time someone other than Tom Brady won MVP was in 2002. In 2002, Ray Lewis was named Super Bowl XXXV MVP for his outstanding defensive play against the New York Giants. H He went into the NFL draft in 1996 and was drafted 26th overall by the Baltimore Ravens. Since then, he’s been elected Super Bowl XXXV MVP (2001), Defensive Player of The Year (2003) and is currently playing in his 16th season as Linebacker for the Baltimore Ravens.

Conclusion and Summary about Super Bowl LI

Super Bowl 51, a.k.a., Super Bowl LI, will take place on February 5th, 2017 at the NRG Stadium in Houston , Texas. The Atlanta Falcons are hosting the New England Patriots . This is the second time that a Super Bowl has been played at NRG Stadium since it opened in 2002. In 2004, Super Bowl XXXVIII, the New England Patriots defeated the Carolina Panthers 32-29.

This year is the 52nd edition of this championship game, and it’s also known as “Super Bowl LI”. Due to an NFL rule enacted in 1973, the number is always increased by 1 before each Super Bowl season. So now that it’s “LI” we’re getting closer to “L”.

After writing this article, I’m more excited and hyped than ever for Super Bowl 51! This will definitely be an interesting game, and I can’t wait to see how it unfolds.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

one × four =